An Explanation Of The LGV Licence

An Explanation Of The LGV Licence

Are you aware of the fact that there isn’t just one available driver’s licence? In fact, there are actually hundreds of various licences based on what you would like to drive. These include a range of licences for both professional driving and handling bigger vehicles. Now, we’re going to focus specifically on the LGV licence, how you can get one, and the HGV licence cost.

The LGV Licence: What Is It?

You may already be aware of how there are various categories of different driving licences. Quite a few of them are already listed on the rear of the pink driver’s licence in your wallet. Those categories cover the kinds of vehicle you’re permitted to drive. They’re usually split up on the size and weight of vehicles. Such categories range from motorcycles and passenger vehicles to the biggest commercial vehicles that are on the roadways. Typically speaking, if you’re able to drive passenger vehicles, then your licence is Category B.

Category C+E:

Of all LGV licence classes, this one is the highest. Having this lets you drive the heftiest and biggest HGVs on the roadways, including construction equipment. As such, it shouldn’t shock you that this licence is highly coveted! If you get this, you can drive vehicles whose authorised mass is more than 7.5 tonnes, including trailers over 750kg.

Category C:

This licence is the one most commonly held for all UK LFV drivers. Having it qualities you to legitimately operate vehicles that include bin lorries, tipper trucks, heavier box trucks, and articulated lorries.

Category C1+E:

This LGV licence is considered a lower form, since there are some restrictions on what you can drive. It applies to vehicles ranging from 3.5 up to 7.5 tonnes, and trailers of 750kg or higher. Examples of vehicles such as these can include large cargo vans that have utility trailers or even smaller tipper trucks that are built upon a normal truck chassis.

Category C1:

This LGV licence is the base licence. Drivers usually pass this one up in lieu of another licence with more options. The C1 licence permits you to drive small box trucks and transit vans, although you can’t tow trailers behind you.

What Does LGV Licence Training Involve?

Training for LGV driving covers the knowledge and physical skills you need in order to drive appropriately and safely on the roadways. This is crucial, since LGV driving isn’t like motorcycle or car driving. It’s actually in a very different world, so different skills are necessary. For instance, some particular skills you might need include the following: Properly making turns Reversing trailers and trucks Handling bigger vehicles when in tight spaces Proper techniques for acceleration and braking Proper usage of safety equipment like mirrors Past all that, LGV training also lets drivers gain the knowledge they will require to pass the Driver CPC, which is the initial step for any professional driving. This means that they need to understand LGV driving theory and then pass a demonstration exam of practical skills. Each skill has two tests.

How Is The LGV Test Set Up?

The licence testing for LGVs works similarly to Driver CPC testing. There are three sections that need to be passed, and they’re split into two parts. Theory: Drivers have to demonstrate their knowledge of proper and safe driving theory. That’s often the initial test a driver will take, just as soon as they get their individual provisional entitlement via the post. This typically takes several weeks to show up, so students have time to learn and then revise for their theory portion, preparing for immediate testing as soon as is possible.